The world’s most successful multi-media business-to-business publishers

The Moodie Davitt Report is published by independent company Moodie International, now one of the world’s most successful multi-media business-to-business publishers. It was founded in 2002 by then sole owner Martin Moodie (who today controls 75% of the company).

The website (www.MoodieDavittReport.com) was launched as The Moodie Report in March 2003 and quickly became established as an indispensable source of reliable and real-time business intelligence on the global travel retail sector. It attracted a record 8,920,367 page views in 2022, an extraordinary result in a niche business sector.

The figure (verified by Google Analytics – all source material is available to advertising partners), generated from 3,288,114 individual sessions, represented a +39.9% year-on-year increase and a +135.3% rise over pre-pandemic 2019.

MoodieDavittReport.com grew out of The Moodie Report, a weekly eNewsletter and PDF for the travel retail industry launched in September 2002 (subsequently relaunched as the sector’s first eZine in late 2011).

The Moodie Report effectively challenged – and reinvented – the whole trade press model, winning widespread industry recognition for its no-nonsense, easy-to-read format, style and content, mercifully free of the usual industry speculation, spin and barely disguised advertorial.

The html-linked eNewsletter and pioneering eZine are now sent to over 21,000 readers (a list that is regularly updated) making them easily the best-read media in the travel retail marketplace, as well as the most respected and trusted.

In October 2003 our brand was extended to The Moodie Davitt Report Magazine (initially in print format, extended to digital in October 2007). It was an immediate critical and commercial success and is now a clear leader in advertising and reputational terms.

The digital title provides readers anywhere/anytime access to current and back issues. It enhances the user experience through multi-media and a variety of viewing options, as well as allowing search capabilities of all articles, advertisements and images across the entire publication.

The Magazine is sent by hyperlink to the entire readership of The Moodie Davitt Newsletter and eZine – free of charge. It is bolstered by key supplements, including The Moodie Davitt Report Category Insight and dedicated retailer and airport publications.

As an organisation we continue to invest heavily in innovative digital media, including the classy, full-screen Moodie Davitt eZine launched in mid-2018; The Moodie Davitt Podcast; and The Moodie Blog. We also have a strong social media footprint across WeChat (over 4,000 followers), Instagram, LinkedIn (almost 32,000 followers as at April 2023) and Twitter.

Martin Moodie founded Moodie International in early 2002, after nearly a decade and a half at Raven Fox, publisher of the prominent print publication, Duty-Free News International (DFNI). From 1996 to January 2002 he was Managing Director there, having been Group Editor until the company was acquired by Euromoney in 1995. A New Zealander, he is now proudly based in Hong Kong, China and serves as overall Group Editor as well as leading the company.


Meet the Team

Martin Moodie

Martin@moodiedavittreport.com

Founder & Chairman

Dermot Davitt

Dermot@moodiedavittreport.com

President and Co-Owner

Irene Revilla

Irene@moodiedavittreport.com

Publisher

Sinead Moodie

Sinead@moodiedavittreport.com

Chief Administration Officer and ESG Manager

Matt Willey

Matt@moodiedavittreport.com

Development and Systems Operations Director

Sarah Genest

Sarah@moodiedavittreport.com

Vice President Sales & Events

Hannah Tan-Gillies

Hannah@moodiedavittreport.com

Brands Director

Jess Allerton

Jessica@moodiedavittreport.com

Research Director

Aran Turner

Aran@moodiedavittreport.com

International Account Manager

Jeannie Wong

Jeannie@moodiedavittreport.com

Asia Bureau Chief and Head of Marketing & Events

Vincci Chung

Vincci@moodiedavittreport.com

Associate Director, Events

Declan Moodie

Declan@moodiedavittreport.com

Head of Digital Delivery

Leanne Farnell

Leanne@moodiedavittreport.com

Chief Sub-Editor

Kristyn Branisel

Kristyn@moodiedavittreport.com

Administration and Events Support Manager

Ameesha Raizada

Ameesha@moodiedavittreport.com

Reporter

Maya Feeney

Maya@moodiedavittreport.com

FAB and International Account Manager

Richard Jell

Senior Advisor and Non-Executive Board Director

Mark Lane

Mark@moodiedavittreport.com

Senior Business Editor

Colleen Morgan

Colleen@moodiedavittreport.com

Associate Editor

Camille Bersola

Camille@moodiedavittreport.com

Associate Editor

Zhang Yimei

Yimei@moodiedavittreport.com

Chief China Representative

Dachang Wang

Dachang@moodiedavittreport.com

China Travel Retail Express Editor

Penelope Zhou

Penelope@moodiedavittreport.com

Chinese Editor

Contact The Moodie Davitt Report

You are welcome to contact us with your comments, company notices, news and views.

Food & Beverage The Magazine eZine