Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup set for tee-off

UAE. Around 100 duty free & travel retail executives will gather in Dubai this week for the 29th edition of the Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup, one of the highlights of the industry social calendar.

The hugely popular Dubai Duty Free-hosted event takes place over two days at Emirates Golf Club on 24 November and Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht Club on 25 November, respectively. The Moodie Davitt Report is both sponsor and participant; Founder & Chairman Martin Moodie and President Dermot Davitt will report in coming days.

The invitational golf tournament precedes the Middle East & Africa Duty Free Association (MEADFA) Conference which takes place in Bahrain from 27-29 November.

MMI Managing Director International, Travel Retail and Fine Wine Marius Fouché won the 2021 Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup. He is pictured centre with the Dubai Duty Free ambassadors (left and right) and (from left) Irish golf pro Des Smyth, Dubai Duty Free Chief Operating Officer Salah Tahlak and Senior Vice President – Marketing Sinead El Sibai

Dubai Duty Free Executive Vice Chairman & CEO Colm McLoughlin described this year’s participation level as “excellent”. He expressed delight that some players are returning who have participated in the tournament almost every year since 1993.

He said: “The response to this year’s tournament has once again been very good and we are delighted to welcome these key industry figures back to Dubai. We are also happy to welcome back Des Smyth, a well-respected Irish golfer, who is our golf pro for the tournament.”

The tournament is open to all male and female amateur players with a valid handicap of 28/36 or less. Special seniors categories offer prizes in groups from age 50+, 65+ and 70+.

Past champions of the Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup include Steve Flanagan (1993/1996); Raimund Legnar (1994); Brendan O’Shea (1995); Noel Fox (1997- 2000); Jan Baljet (2001); Ulrik Moller (2002); Adel Zarooni (2003-2004); Art Miller (2005); John Kammerman (2006); Nayma Maya (2007); Mark Van Huesden (2008); James Kfouri (2009); Gurbax Singh (2010); Clark Francis (2011); Rabih Sfeila (2012); Dermot Davitt (2013); Denise Kennedy (2014), Bayer Khan (2015), Scott Campbell (2016), Clark Francis (2017), Cees van Dooren (2018), Richard Lombard-Chibnall (2019) and Marius Fouche (2021).

Following the first day of golf on 24 November, guests will enjoy Dubai Duty Free’s customary hospitality at the popular The Irish Village in Garhoud, with special entertainment lined up for the evening.

Dubai Duty Free has a busy calendar of events through November and December. In recent days the retailer supported the DP World Tour Championship – Race to Dubai and will soon be present at the Dubai Duty Free Sailing League Regatta and the Emirates Airline Dubai Rugby 7’s. On 20 December the company will celebrate its 39th anniversary.

Food & Beverage The Magazine eZine